Boat on water in Thailand

Meet Justin - With 25+ years of travel experience, He is now living his dream of running his own travel business.

I have been in the travel industry for approx. 25+ years. I first began my career at Thomson’s Travel in Midrand and have since then worked for about 7 different travel agencies before spending most of my time working for a large travel group. Today I’m realizing a dream of mine that I have always wanted for a long time which is starting my own travel business. Up until now I didn’t think that this was possible, as I had always believed that I needed a stable income to support my family. The Covid-19 Pandemic however pushed me to make the change…

I have always come in No. 1 or No. 2 in the number of transactions and figures at my previous place of employment. I am a hard worker and I am proud of it. I know that being a Travel Counsellor will add a new dimension to my bookings and that my passion for travel will shine even more. I am looking forward to being able to enjoy a work-life balance where I will love my job once again. I am already so excited to get started.

I am really looking forward to interacting with likeminded individuals and with the whole Travel Counsellor team. I also look forward to seeing the rewards of my hard work. I can’t wait to be able to take control of my own business and to say to myself in a little while, Justin why didn’t you do this sooner.

I am a social person and love interacting with people. When I was about 8 years old, I was sent to Italy on my own to meet my mother and ended up taking a wrong connecting flight. When I look back, I believe that’s when my passion for this industry started. I love new cultures and stepping off a plane into a foreign land gives one the opportunity to learn about new countries. I am a firm believer in travel being like a world university where you will learn more by travelling to new places than you will via the many other learning centres.

I have been married for 24 years to Jacqualine. She is a bookkeeper and we have two daughters Sarah and Christine who are 17 and 22 years old. I am a keen golfer and during my school years I played with Ernie Els in the South African amateur championships! I am also a keen Park runner, but I am more of a power walker. I have completed over 150 park runs. I love travelling and have travelled to Italy, Mauritius, America, Hong Kong, Britain and Ireland to mention just a few. I have a Labrador mix dog and 2 cats.

I would love to travel to Hawaii. It seems the furthest point to travel from where I live. I have always loved the ocean and the waves.

If you can relate to Justin’s story and if you too would like to start your own travel business, then we would love for you to get in touch with us. We hold regular online demos to show case our systems and to explain how it all works, to sign up click here

Interested in becoming a Travel Counsellor?

It's a big decision, that's why we're on hand to help you

Talk to us